Thank you!

Thank you!

This is going to be a very special blogpost, and a difficult one too. This time I’m not going to offer you any link, video or activity. I’m writing just to say good-bye to my dear students.

I have to admit that this year has been one of the best ones of my life as a teacher. No, I’m not lying, nor exaggerating. I’ve not only taught lots of things, but learnt a lot too. Besides, fortune has put in my path 25 wonderful people who always attended lessons with a smile on their faces.

This year together I’ve learnt the names of many beaches of the North of Gran Canaria (those who don’t know the island would be surprised by the number of beaches that we have), and that some of them are not well taken care of. I’ve learnt where to go out in Moya, Gáldar, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and in Playa del Inglés. I didn’t know what a Hadron Collider was, nor that there were more martial arts apart from Judo or Karate. I’ve got to know lots of new music artists and discovered new songs. For example, I had never heard Jamie Cullum’s version of “Please don’t stop the music”, and now I want to hear it all the time. You’ve even encouraged me to finally finish with the Twilight Saga, that I did. And these are just a few examples.

Together we’ve worked, spoken, written, read, listened to, sung, smiled, laughed… You had to suffer the consequences of seing me a bit “disappointed” a couple of times, though being angry at you has been an impossible mission. You’ve met the teacher, the comedian and even the iron sergeant.

All in all, the only thing that really matters is that, in the end, you’ve learnt some English and had some fun at the same time. Remember The Fun Theory, people tend to do things better when there’s some fun involved. God knows I’ve tried to make you smile and laugh all the time, though I was not always successful. But teaching English was not my only objective. My real objective was to make you love the English Language or at least, show you my love for it.

Oops! This is getting too long. Well, I would like to finish this wishing you the best for your life. And who knows if our paths will meet again in the near future. I hope you all finish this course with a positive feeling and keep a nice memory of our year together.

Thank you for being there!

Love,

Your Iron Sergeant.

