In class we’ve been looking at ways to tell stories.  A good story uses different past tenses (past simple, past continuous, past perfect and past perfect continuous) and adverbs (suddenly, fortunately, actually, especially etc).  Look at this Powerpoint about the famous story of “Romeo and Juliet” to help you understand how to use the tenses.

Here are some links to the English File Intermediate Plus website to practise verb tenses and adverbs.

Now it’s your turn.  I want you to tell me a 3 minute story on one of the topics about journeys on page 39 of your coursebook.  First of all, you need to make notes.  Then you can record your voice using this website Vocaroo, or other recording devices, such as your mobile phone.  You need to send the recording to my email address and then I can listen to you.

Here is an example of my anecdote of when I ran out of petrol.  I’ve recorded it with Vocaroo, as you can see… and it’s 3 minutes long!  Here are the notes I used to help me remember my story.  It’s VERY important not to write sentences or too many notes or you will only read the story and you will not sound natural.  If you practise, why not record it?  Sometimes the best version is the first one because it is more spontaneous.  You can listen and then record it again if you don’t like it (click on ‘Retry’ if you use Vocaroo).  I look forward to hearing your stories.  Deadline:  5th December.

