Written by Deborah Hernández from Avanzado 2.

Thoughts like: “If I could choose right now where to go, I would go to… or If I could close my eyes for a minute, open them and be in a place, it would be in…”  have crossed my mind many times. And the answer has always been the same: Tahiti.

This island belongs to the French Polynesia and is located in the South Pacific, together with Moorea, Bora Bora and Raiatea & Taha’a (Society Islands). The archipelago was formed from volcanic activity and is high and mountainous with surrounding coral reefs.

Why is this my paradise? The picture says everything, it looks like heaven on earth.The magnificent combination of blue in the sea together with  the green of the mountains and palms, it is simply amazing. But not only for its beauty, but also because it is an awesome place for surfing, one of my passions, although I am still learning. Tahiti has a small village (Teahupoo) on the south-west coast known for the surf break and heavy, glassy waves offshore, often reaching 2 to 3 meters and sometimes up to 7 meters. Surfers from all over the world go there to catch the best waves ever and for the competitions as well. 

I do not know when the time for me to be there is going to arrive but, it will. Meanwhile, I will continue thinking about my paradise as many times as my mind lets me do it. And you, do you have a Paradise? Where is it?

